TRAFFIC Logo

Wildlife Trade Specialists

Pangolin scales seized by Malaysia Customs. Pangolins are the world's most trafficked mammal, a million have been poached in the last decade to satisfy Asian demand for their products © TRAFFIC

非法的野生物贸易 加强对野生物犯罪和非法贸易的应对

Pangolin scales seized by Malaysia Customs. Pangolins are the world's most trafficked mammal, a million have been poached in the last decade to satisfy Asian demand for their products © TRAFFIC

i

我们这个时代的环境保护危机

非法野生物贸易正在对世界各地的野生动植物物种造成威胁,偷猎者、贩运者和高度有组织的犯罪集团为了满足消费者的需求,不惜一切代价地追求利润。

象牙、犀牛角、穿山甲甲片、虎骨、熊胆、红木等野生动植物商品的走私和不可持续的贸易,导致那些极具魅力的野生动植物物种以及一些不太为人所知的野生动物物种的数量出现了前所未有的下降。我们站在第一线,尽全力确保任何机会下的非法野生物贸易都能够被发现、阻止和检举。

70 – 23亿美元

联合国对非法野生物贸易年价值的估计

我们在非法野生物贸易方面的工作

加强对野生物犯罪和非法贸易的应对

我们工作的重点是通过提高野生物非法贸易的犯罪风险并减少与之相关的利润、犯罪动机和参与,从而持续减少非法野生物贸易。

A Sumatran Tiger Panthera Tigris snared to death in Indonesia. Indiscriminately set illegal snares pose a huge risk to not just Big Cats but all manner of wildlife species © WWF-Indonesia / Osmantri

i

Penny Wallace, Programme Officer for Wildlife Crime

“了解偷猎者、走私者和有组织的犯罪分子是如何运作的,这是我们试图打破这极其复杂的野生物走私网络的唯一途径。”

Penny Wallace, Programme Officer for Wildlife Crime

我们致力于解决野生物犯罪和非法野生物贸易的整个贸易链,即从源头至目的地市场。

我们与贸易链上涉及的执法机构合作,以确保他们具备发现、识别和预防非法野生物贸易的能力。以下是我们为持续减少偷猎和非法野生物贸易所采取的一些重点行动。

了解更多关于我们的工作策略

的工作策略

受到来自非法贸易威胁的旗舰物种

穿山甲

在过去的十年里,有一百万只左右穿山甲被偷猎,这使它们成为世界上被非法贩运数量最多的哺乳动物之一。

这些生活在亚洲和非洲的害羞的动物主要因为它们的甲片和身体部位被偷猎,通常被作为滋补品、财富的象征或传统医药的材料之一。我们正在努力采取措施,阻止对这些动物的过度开发,并帮助穿山甲种群恢复生机。

更多关于穿山甲

Ground pangolin Smutsia temminckii, pangolins are predominantly poached for their scales and meat © Darren Pietersen / African Pangolin Working Group

i

非洲犀牛

黑犀牛和白犀牛是非洲最具标志性的巨型动物群之一;这些温和的食草动物曾经遍布整个大陆。

多年来,有组织的犯罪集团为获取犀牛角而残忍猎杀它们,这两种非洲犀牛现在都面临着在野外灭绝的危险,急需保护。我们正在努力减少亚洲消费者群体对犀牛角的需求,并制定打击偷猎与非法犀牛角贸易的创新方法。

更多关于非洲犀牛

An African Black Rhino Diceros bicornis, poached for their horn © Richard Edwards / WWF-UK

i

非洲象

非洲象可以说是受到非法贸易和野生物犯罪影响最为严重的物种,因为在过去的一个世纪里,大约90%的大象遭到了非法猎杀。

全球性的努力扭转在对遏制非洲象数量的毁灭性打击上已经取得了积极成果,但对象牙的市场需求仍然存在,非法贸易商仍然像以往一样神通广大和冷酷无情。通过关闭主要的国内象牙市场,是我们结束这持续了几十年的屠杀迈出的重要一步,。

更多关于非洲象

African Elephant Loxodonta africana, is mostly poached for its tusks © naturepl.com / Tony Heald / WWF

i

虎(Panthera tigris)种群因偷猎、非法贸易、人类与野生动物的冲突以及栖息地的丧失而受到严重威胁。这些大型猫科动物曾经在亚洲地区很常见,目前野生种群数量大约仅有3800只。

TRAFFIC一直在监测虎的非法贸易,发现在过去16年里,平均每年有110只虎进入亚洲的非法贸易链。由于这些发现,CITES的缔约方现在承诺逐步淘汰虎养殖场,因为养殖场仍影响着虎贸易,并刺激了对虎身体部分与虎制品的需求。尽管有这些积极的举措,野生虎要摆脱濒危现状还有很长的路要走。

更多关于虎

Seized Tiger skins in Chitwan National Park, Nepal © Mark Atkinson / WWF

i

木材

木材是世界上被贸易最为广泛的野生物商品,其中相当一部分是非法采伐和交易的。

要规范这一类贸易,需要确保木材的可持续采伐和合法交易是重大挑战之一。特别令人关注的是热带木材所面临的威胁,例如不同种类的红木(Dalbergia spp.)。在包括马达加斯加和喀麦隆在内的一些国家,对珍稀木材的过度开发程度已令人震惊,森林砍伐破坏了生物多样性并威胁到当地社区居民的生计。

更多关于木材

Rosewoods, such as this from Madagascar, are in high demand from markets in Asia © naturepl.com / Nick Garbutt / WWF

i

鲍鱼

南非鲍鱼(Haliotis midae)是世界上出口数量最多的水产养殖物种。南非出口的鲍鱼有95%都被运输至中国香港,在那里,鲍鱼被当作佳肴食用或再出口。

最近的TRAFFIC调查发现,南非出口约65%的鲍鱼都是非法采集的,有组织犯罪集团甚至贩毒集团都参与了非法贸易,这对当地社区和鲍鱼种群都造成了威胁。

更多关于鲍鱼

South Afriucan Abalone Haliotis midae, consumed in Hong Kong and mainland China as a delicacy © Derek Keats

i

非法野生物贸易的新闻和资料

我们在打击非法贸易方面的许多工作,目标都是为了支持与提高各国政府和执法机构发现和阻止非法贸易的能力。
了解下方更多的资料和新闻。

有关非法野生物贸易的最新报告

TRAFFIC一直对全球非法野生物贸易进行定期监测和分析,所以我们的报告中绝大多数内容都是涉及野生物犯罪。以下是一些与野生物犯罪和偷猎相关的最新报告。

访问我们的资料库,获得完整的TRAFFIC电子出版物。

所有的报告

实现积极的改变

需要不断提高认识、增强政治意愿并最终采取实践行动,以帮助确保由于管理不善和不可持续的采集而面临威胁的物种及其制品的未来。

2017 - 2020年战略计划

TRAFFIC Logo

Wildlife Trade Specialists

Pangolin scales seized by Malaysia Customs. Pangolins are the world's most trafficked mammal, a million have been poached in the last decade to satisfy Asian demand for their products © TRAFFIC

illegal wildlife trade enhancing responses to wildlife crime and illegal trade

Pangolin scales seized by Malaysia Customs. Pangolins are the world's most trafficked mammal, a million have been poached in the last decade to satisfy Asian demand for their products © TRAFFIC

i

the conservation crisis of our time

Illegal wildlife trade is devastating wildlife species the world over, as poachers, traffickers and highly-organised criminal syndicates ruthlessly pursue profit at any cost to meet consumer demand. 

The trafficking and unsustainable trade in wildlife commodities such as elephant ivory, rhino horn, pangolin scales, tiger bone, bear bile, and rosewood are causing unprecedented declines in some of the world's most charismatic, as well as some lesser-known, wildlife species. We're on the frontline working to ensure that illegal wildlife trade is identified, prevented, and prosecuted at every opportunity. 

USD8–21 billion

UN estimate of annual value of illegal wildlife trade

our work on illegal wildlife trade

enhancing responses to wildlife crime and illegal trade

Our work is focused on achieving a sustained reduction in illegal wildlife trade by increasing the risks and reducing the rewards associated with trading in wildlife contraband, thereby reducing the criminal motivation and engagement in the illicit trade that is driving the poaching crisis.

A Sumatran Tiger Panthera Tigris snared to death in Indonesia. Indiscriminately set illegal snares pose a huge risk to not just Big Cats but all manner of wildlife species © WWF-Indonesia / Osmantri

i

Penny Wallace, Programme Officer for Wildlife Crime

Understanding how poachers, traffickers and organised criminals operate is the only way we can hope to disrupt extremely complicated wildlife smuggling networks

Penny Wallace, Programme Officer for Wildlife Crime

We work to tackle wildlife crime and illegal wildlife along the entire trade chain – from source to destination.

We work with enforcement agencies along supply chains to ensure they are equipped to detect, identify and prevent illegal trade. Below are some key actions we take to work towards a sustained reduction in poaching and illicit wildlife trade.

find out more about our

conservation strategy

a selection of species threatened by illegal trade

pangolins

An estimated one million pangolins have been poached in the last decade, making them the most trafficked mammals in the world.

These shy creatures are poached in Asia and Africa for their scales and body parts, consumed for nourishment, a symbol of wealth or within traditional medicine.  We're working to introduce measures to prevent the over-exploitation of these remarkable animals and turn the tide for pangolins.

more about pangolins

Ground pangolin Smutsia temminckii, pangolins are predominantly poached for their scales and meat © Darren Pietersen / African Pangolin Working Group

i

African rhinos

Black and White Rhinos are among Africa's most iconic mega-fauna; gentle grazers and browsers who once spanned the entire continent.

After years of ruthless poaching by organised criminal syndicates for their keratin horn, both African species of rhino are now threatened with extinction in the wild and in desperate need of protection. We're working to to both reduce demand for their horn among target consumers in Asia, and develop innovative approaches to combating poaching and the illegal trade in rhino horn.

more about African rhinos

An African Black Rhino Diceros bicornis, poached for their horn © Richard Edwards / WWF-UK

i

African Elephants

African Elephants are arguably the most well-known species to be heavily impacted by illegal trade and wildlife crime, given that approximately 90% have been decimated within the last century.

Global efforts to reverse this devastating onslaught on African Elephant populations have seen positive results, but demand for ivory still exists and illegal traders remain as resourceful and ruthless as ever. By closing domestic ivory markets which are contributing to poaching we can take significant steps towards ending a slaughter that has lasted for decades.

more about african elephants

African Elephant Loxodonta africana, is mostly poached for its tusks © naturepl.com / Tony Heald / WWF

i

tigers

Tiger Panthera tigris populations have been devastated by poaching, illegal trade, human-wildlife conflict and habitat loss. Once common across Asian range states, these magnificent big cats are now estimated to number approximately 3,800 in the wild.

TRAFFIC monitors the illegal trade in tigers and found that an average of 110 individuals a year have entered the illegal trade chain in Asia over the last 16 years. As a result of such findings, Parties to CITES are now committed to phasing out tiger farming, which contributes to this trade and stimulates demand for their parts. Despite such positive moves, there's still a long way to go before wild tigers shed their Endangered status.

more about tigers

Seized Tiger skins in Chitwan National Park, Nepal © Mark Atkinson / WWF

i

tropical timber

Timber is the most widely traded wildlife commodity worldwide, a significant amount of which is harvested and traded illegally.

Regulating this trade to ensure timber is harvested and traded legally poses significant challenges. Of particular concern are the threats facing tropical timbers, such as various species of Rosewood Dalbergia spp. In some nations, including Madagascar and Cameroon, overexploitation of precious timber is occurring at alarming levels, with forest clearance decimating biodiversity and threatening the livelihoods of local people.

more about timber trade

Rosewoods, such as this from Madagascar, are in high demand from markets in Asia © naturepl.com / Nick Garbutt / WWF

i

Abalone

South African Abalone Haliotis midae is the most heavily exported species in aquaculture anywhere in the world. 95% of South African Abalone exports go to Hong Kong, where it is it consumed as a delicacy or re-exported.

Recent TRAFFIC surveys have revealed that approximately 65% of South Africa's abalone exports are harvested illegally, and that organised criminal syndicates and even drug cartels are involved in the illegal trade that is harming both local communities and abalone populations.

more about fisheries

South Afriucan Abalone Haliotis midae, consumed in Hong Kong and mainland China as a delicacy © Derek Keats

i

news and materials on illegal wildlife trade

Much of our work combating illegal trade is aimed at supporting governments and enforcement agencies to detect and prevent it. Explore some recent materials and news below.

Latest reports related to ILLEGAL WILDLIFE TRADE

TRAFFIC routinely monitors and analyses illegal trade, so the vast majority of our reports concern wildlife crime by proxy. Here are some recent examples specifically relevant to wildlife crime and poaching.

Visit our resource library for the full TRAFFIC publication archive.

achieving positive change

A major increase in awareness, political will, and ultimately action on the ground is needed to help ensure the future of species and products at risk through mismanagement and unsustainable harvesting.

2017–2020 strategy